The Huntington Town Board, in partnership with the Greater Huntington Council of Yacht and Boating Clubs, has declared May 16-22 as Safe Boating Week in the Town of Huntington. During that week, the Town and the Greater Huntington Council will join with the Coast Guard Auxiliary and the Neptune Sail and Power Squadron in offering various programs highlighting the importance of taking safety precautions and behaving sensibly when spending time on the water. The week features free courtesy boating equipment inspections and an eight-hour New York State boating and safety course among the events. One highlight will be the annual nautical flea market and festival May 17 in Mill Dam Park.
With the boating season of 2015 almost upon us, the Town of Huntington will be hosting a “FREE” one-day eight-hour New York State Boaters Safety Course at Huntington Town Hall – located at 100 Main Street in Huntington. The boating safety course will take place on Saturday, May 16th from 8:00am to 5:00pm. To register, or for additional information, please call: 631-351-3256.
This course is in support of the Greater Huntington Council of Yacht & Boating Clubs’ Third Annual Huntington Safe Boating Week Festival kicking off on Sunday, May 17th at Mill Dam Park in Halesite with a Nautical Flea Market. Those attending will learn the fundamentals of safe boating such as safe loading & operation, navigation rules, getting underway and accidents & emergencies and much more.
With the boating season of 2015 approaching, the Town of Huntington will be hosting two "FREE" one-day eight-hour New York State Boaters Safety Courses at Huntington Town Hall in on Saturday, April 18th from 9:00 am to 5 pm and Saturday, May 16th from 9 am to 5 pm. Those attending these two classes will learn the fundamentals of safe boating such as safe loading & operation, navigation rules, getting underway and accidents & emergencies and much more.
Two years ago, N.Y. State passed a law that requires boaters to take a safety course before operating in local waters. According to the legislation, the safety certifications may be administered through such agencies as the United States Power Squadrons, the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary and the New York State Department of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. Those who violate this law face fines of $250, $500 or $1,000 for first, second or third offences respectively. The law also requires all boaters born on or after May 1st 1996 to have a boating safety certificate to operate a power vessel.